Worldwide Books Award for Publications

The purpose of the Award for Publications is to recognize outstanding publications by ARLIS/NA Individual members in librarianship or visual resources curatorship, and the arts. By recognizing special achievement in these areas this Award acknowledges and encourages scholarly publication by the ARLIS/NA membership.



Projects Supported

Projects may focus on publications which benefit the profession of art and visual resources librarianship, as well as the broader world of librarianship, through such means as compilation and dissemination of information, translation of original scholarship, analysis of our professions, or the enhancement of access to information. In addition, eligible projects include those which result in original scholarship in the literary, musical, architectural and visual arts and aspects of visual and material culture.

Award Amounts

Recipients may receive awards ranging from a certificate of merit to a cash award of up to $2,000.

Eligibility: Format & Material Types

  • All formats are eligible, including hard copy, fiche, video, audio, and digital.
  • The following types of material are eligible: monographs, journal articles, essays in collected works, individual numbers of journals devoted to a special topic where nominee(s) appears as either editor or author, or other types of materials which meet the purpose of the award.
  • The following types of materials are not eligible: theses, dissertations, annual reports, posters, newsletters, or other types of materials judged by the Committee not to meet the Purpose of the Awards.

Publication Date

The work must have been published during the 2012 or 2013 calendar year. For the 2014 awards, all calendar year 2012 publications and any 2013 publications whose nominations are postmarked by the February 26, 2014 nomination deadline will be eligible. In the case of journals, when the journal enumeration lags behind the publication date, the Committee will consider the date of the issue's appearance as the publication date.


This Award is available to ARLIS/NA INDIVIDUAL members only (including special Individual membership categories, "Honorary", "Student", "Retired", and "Unemployed"). Author(s) must have been an Individual ARLIS/NA member during both the year of publication (2012 or 2013) and the year of nomination (2014). Membership records held by the ARLIS/NA national headquarters will be consulted in the event of any questions regarding membership.

ELIGIBLE for consideration:

  • Group projects undertaken by NOT MORE THAN FOUR AUTHORS are eligible. At least half the participants must meet the above ARLIS/NA membership criteria.
  • Individuals may be considered for more than one publication.
  • Past recipients of the ARLIS/NA Research Award or the H.W. Wilson Research Award are eligible.

NOT ELIGIBLE for consideration:

  • Institutional members, official groups, Committees, Chapters, Divisions, and Sections of the Society are not eligible to apply for this Award.
  • Current members of the ARLIS/NA Executive Board and the Research Awards Committee are not eligible.
  • Group projects undertaken by MORE THAN FOUR AUTHORS are not eligible.

Nomination Procedure

Publications to be considered for the Award may be nominated by self-nomination, nomination by a colleague, or nomination by the Committee. A completed nomination form must accompany each nomination.

If the publication is an article or essay, a photocopy must be supplied. Copies of journals, monographs, CD-ROMs, DVDs, videos, etc. should be sent with the Nomination Form when possible. Submissions provided electronically or on disc are greatly appreciated. Where nominators, authors, or publishers are unable to supply the Committee with a copy of the publication, the Committee will consult the publication, as available, in library collections. In the case of non-traditional media or forms of dissemination, appropriate means for access must be indicated. Materials will be returned if accompanied by a stamped, self-addressed return mailer.

Application Schedule

  • Applications and accompanying material must be postmarked by February 26, 2014.
  • Nominations will be reviewed by the ARLIS/NA Research Award Committee according to the criteria outlined below. Notification of the Committee's decision will be mailed to all authors and nominators no later than March 31, 2014.
  • Public announcement of the Award winner(s) and the presentation of the Award check(s) will be made at the annual ARLIS/NA conference in Washington, DC in May 2014.

Application Review Process

The Research Committee will review and judge applications based on several factors, including:

  1. Overall contribution to the field.
  2. Originality of scholarship.
  3. Effective presentation of material.
  4. Quality of writing.
  5. Appropriateness of format for the highest potential utilization of the material.

When works are judged to be of equal merit, preference may be given to applicants who have not previously received an Award.

Additional copies of these guidelines are available from:

Shalimar Fojas White
Manager, Image Collections and Fieldwork Archives
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection
1703 32nd Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 339-6972
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Karyn Hinkle
Reader Services Librarian
Bard Graduate Center: Decorative Arts, Design History, Material Culture
38 West 86th Street
New York, NY 10024
(212) 501-3035
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.