Published 05/04/20 


The Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Student Advancement Awards.

Meghan Lyon is the recipient of the Society’s 2019 Gerd Muehsam Award for her paper, “Digital Embodiments of Artists’ Archives: Digitized Collections and Their Web-based Platforms,” written for professor Debbie Rabina’s Foundations of Information course at Pratt Institute’s School of Information. The Gerd Muehsam Award is given annually to recognize excellence in a graduate student paper or project on a topic relevant to art librarianship. This award was established to honor the memory of Gerd Muehsam (1913-1979), a distinguished scholar, teacher, and art bibliographer, whose support of and dedication to ARLIS/NA was an inspiration to her colleagues and students.

The 2020 Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award recipient is Abigail Sebaly. Abigail is in her final year of graduate school. She is pursuing a dual Master of Archival Studies and Master of Library of Information Studies at the University of British Columbia. During her 150-hour internship she intends to split time between Western Front where she will work on audiovisual digitization, digital preservation, and web archiving and Emily Carr University of Art + Design working on a disaster remediation project. The Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award provides financial support for students preparing for a career in art or architecture librarianship or visual resources curatorship. 

The members of the 2019-2020 ARLIS/NA Student Advancement Awards Subcommittee were: Jade Finlinson, Stephanie Fletcher, Spyros Koulouris, Gwen Mayhew, Courtenay McLeland (chair), Becca Pad, and Karly Wildenhaus.

instagram Pin It