News and Events

Research Awards 2019: Call for Nominations


The ARLIS/NA Research Awards Subcommittee of the Awards Committee has announced that applications are now being accepted for the Research Awards. The three awards recognize the professional, scholarly pursuits of ARLIS/NA members.

H.W. Wilson Foundation Research Award

The H.W. Wilson Foundation Research Award provides funds, up to $3,000, to be used in support of future and in-process research projects that contribute to and benefit the art librarianship and visual resources profession, and librarianship in general.

Worldwide Books Award for Publications
Worldwide Books Award for Electronic Resources

The Worldwide Books Award for Publications and the Worldwide Books Award for Electronic Resources bestow cash prizes—up to $2,000 each—for outstanding print and online art publications that have been published within the past two years, 2017 or 2018. These publications may be in the form of a book, a website, an article, etc.

The Research Awards Subcommittee welcomes self-nominations or nominations for work of an ARLIS/NA colleague that deserves recognition. Applications for the three awards will all be due on or before Friday, December 14, 2018.

Award guidelines and application forms are available on the Awards Committee webpages linked above. Past H.W. Wilson and Worldwide award winners are listed from there as well.

Questions regarding the award applications and/or the eligibility of a project should be directed to the chair of the Research Awards Sub-committee, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The ARLIS/NA Research Awards Subcommittee: Amy Furness, Andi Back, Marianne Williams, Megan Williams, and Kathy Woodrell


Have some news to share? Contact the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

ARLiSNAP and VREPS 2018 Virtual Conference Call for Participation

ArLiSNAP (Art Library Students and New ARLIS Professionals) and VREPS (Visual Resources Association Emerging Professionals and Students) are joining forces to host a virtual conference this autumn! The conference is titled "New Media Challenges and Solutions for Art Information Professionals", and will take place on Saturday, October 13, 2018. This is an excellent opportunity for those who cannot be physically present at annual conferences.

Read more ...

Public Policy Committee News Alert, July 2018

Public Policy Committee News Alerts support the committee's mission to monitor public policy issues and keep the ARLIS/NA membership informed. The monthly alerts are intended to be conversation starters, help members keep up on public policy issues, and alert members to new developments. 

Read more ...

Professional Development Committee Bulletin, July 2018

PDC Bulletin: A quarterly update from the ARLIS/NA Professional Development Committee

The PDC Bulletin is compiled by the Professional Development Committee (PDC) to spread the word about professional development resources and opportunities for art information professionals. 

Read more ...

2019 Melva J. Dwyer Award: Call for Nominations

The Melva J. Dwyer Award was established in recognition of the contribution made to the field of art librarianship by Melva Dwyer, former head of the Fine Arts Library, University of British Columbia. It is given to the creators of exceptional reference or research tools relating to Canadian art and architecture.

Read more ...