The Society Circle was formed in 2003 to serve as the Society's fundraising organization.

Anyone who donates to ARLIS/NA is automatically part of the Society’s giving circle. Society Circle members directly support the mission of ARLIS/NA through their contributions. A list of donation levels and benefits is on the Donate Now page.

Donations help support all areas of ARLIS/NA, including special travel awards for the annual conference. Society Circle members have supported these awards since the Circle's founding in 2003.

Impact of Awards

Heather GendronThe year I received the Internship Award (2001) was the first time it was awarded. The committee had worked so hard to get the award established and there was so much excitement about it - the experience gave me a strong sense that ARLIS/NA was an organization of people highly committed to the future of ARLIS/NA and art librarianship as a whole. The internship experience gave me excellent concrete experience to put on my resume. I also received mentoring from librarians at the University of Texas, Austin where my internship was hosted, as well as from members of the internship award committee. As someone new to the art library profession, it made a big impact. Through the ARLIS/NA members I encountered, I saw a very positive facet of the organization that I have tried to replicate throughout my career and through my ARLIS/NA activities. The whole experience inspired me to actively participate in the organization. I was subsequently asked to serve on the committee for the internship award, which gave me a foothold into ARLIS/NA. I learned how to network and became more confident in volunteering for ARLIS/NA projects. Later on, I was nominated to serve as an ARLIS/NA Executive Board member and currently serve as its President – so I think we can safely say this award really helped jump-start my dream career!

- Heather Gendron: Internship Award 2001, current ARLIS/NA President

Read more stories from those supported by the funds of Society Circle members.

The Circle supports the following special and conference related activities: 
  • Conference Speakers Fund
  • Internship Fund

The fund goes to support the Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award which provides financial support for students preparing for a career in art or architecture librarianship, or visual resources curatorship.

The internship aims to represent the multifaceted nature of the field by providing internship opportunities to students currently enrolled in, or having completed within the last 12 months, a graduate program in library/information science, art history, architectural history, architecture, studio art, or museum studies. The grant supports a 150 hour internship in an art library or visual resources collection.

  • Alternative Voices Speakers Fund

The Alternative Voices Speakers Fund was established in 2008 to bring a diversity of voices to the ARLIS/NA annual conference by encouraging the participation of non-ARLIS/NA speakers from traditionally underrepresented racial or ethnic groups. The fund supports attendance costs and a small honorarium for recommended speakers who self-identify with one or more traditionally underrepresented racial or ethnic groups. All donations to the fund will count towards your Society Circle membership.

  • Travel Grant Fund

Funding opportunities for members and non-members who wish to attend the ARLIS/NA annual conference.

2015-2016 Society Circle Members

(September 2015 - August 2016)

Founder's Circle

Joan Benedetti

Sherman Clarke

President's Circle

Sandra Ludig Brooke
Janis K. Ekdahl (In memory of Wolfgang Freitag)
Carole Ann Fabian
Edward Goodman
Kristen Kern (In memory of Mary Ausplund Tooze)
Roger C. Lawson

Gregory P. J. Most
Lindy Narver
Kristen Regina
Daniel A. Starr
Peter A. Stern
Ann B. Whiteside

Patron's Circle

Jeanne Brown
Jane A. Carlin (In honor of Betty Jo Irvine and Eileen Fry)
Susan A. Davi
Kathy S. Edwards
Jon W. Evans (In honor of Joan Benedetti)
Shalimar Abigail Fojas White
Milan R. Hughston (In memory of Lois Swan Jones and in honor of Sherman Clarke)
Deborah A. Kempe
Dan Lipcan
Amy E. Lucker

Martha Mahard (In memory of Wolfgang Freitag)
Elizabeth M. O'Keefe
Nancy Pistorius (In memory of Judith Hoffberg)
Faith Pleasanton (In memory of Kirk Varnedoe)
Mark Pomeplia (In memory of Robert Scott Brooks)
Ann Roll
Marilyn Russell
Deborah Smedstad
Sandra J. Still
Carol S. Terry
Kathy J. Woodrell

Members of the Circle

Cindy D. Abel Morris
Robert Adams
Rachel Beckwith
Peter Blank
Amanda Bowen
Marilyn Carbonell (in honor of Susan Craig)
Sarah C. Carter (in honor of Betty Jo Irvine)
Amy N. Ciccone
Kimberly (Kim) Collins
Ross Day (In memory of Allan D. Chapman)
Jolene Marie de Verges
Samantha Deutch
Deirdre Donohue
Judy Dyki
E. Lee L. Eltzroth (In honor of Harlan L. Sifford)
Margaret English
Susan J. Flanagan
Suzy Frechette (In honor of Susan V. Craig)
Rebecca K. Friedman
Paula B. Gabbard
Jennifer Garland
Heather Gendron
Kay Glenday (In honor of Caroline H. Backlund)
Carol H. Graney (In memory of Barbara Sevy)
V. Heidi Hass
Holly Hatheway
Janine J. Henri
Valerie Hoyt
Eumie Imm Stroukoff
Trudy B. Jacoby (In memory of Howard Karno)
Lindsay M. King
Clayton Carroll Kirking
Eric Kline
Andreas Knab
Lynette Korenic (In memory of William C. Bunce)
Rodica Tanjala L. Krauss
Catherine R. Larking (in honor of Christine Sundt)
Deirdre Lawrence

Susan Lewis
Cara A. List
Sarah Long
Martha S. Maier
Eileen Markson
Laurence McGilvery
Richard Minsky (In memory of Judith Hoffberg)
Susan M. Moon (In memory of James A. Findlay)
Darin Murphy
Lindy Narver (In honor of Caroline H. Backlund)
Nancy Norris
Maria Oldal
Elizabeth Peck Learned
Christina K. Peter
Henry A. Pisciotta
Elizabeth (Lily) A. Pregill
Jet Prendeville
Suzanne Rackover
Barbara Reed
Gabrielle Reed
Alyssa G. Resnick (In memory of Carol J. Resnick)
Sylvia Roberts
Kathleen E. Salomon
Frances Y. Scott (In honor of William Dane)
Susan Sheiner
Suzanna B. Simor (In honor of Ken Soehner)
Heather Slania
Christine Sundt
Edward H. Teague (In memory of Jeff and Janet Teague)
Darlene I. Tong
Liv Valmestad
Lee B. Viverette
Kathryn Wayne
Margaret N. Webster
Michael Weintraub (In memory of Istvan Rozsics)
Tony White (In honor of Betty Jo Irvine)
Lynda White
Floyd M. Zula (In memory of Ella Y. Ward)

Past Founder's Circle Members


Joan Benedetti
Sherman Clarke


Joan Benedetti
Sherman Clarke (in honor of Wittenborn Books)


Joan Benedetti
Sherman Clarke (in honor of Wittenborn Books)
Doris Freitag (in memory of Dr. Wolfgang M. Freitag)


Joan Benedetti


Joan Benedetti 


Joan Benedetti
William Dane 


Joan Benedetti
Deborah Boudewyns 


Joan Benedetti 


Joan Benedetti
Wolfgang Freitag (In Honor of Pamela J. Parry)


Joan Benedetti 


Nancy Allen (in honor of Caroline Backlund)
Joan Benedetti*
Deborah Ultan Boudewyns (Francis V. Gorman Art Library Fund, University of Minnesota, Wilson Library) 


Joan Benedetti
Deborah Ultan Boudewyns (in honor of Indiana University graduates specializing in Art and Visual Resources Librarianship) 

Conference Reception

One benefit for higher-level supporters of the Society’s giving circle is a reception at the conference. Its purpose is to entice members to donate at a higher level as well as celebrate their major contribution to the Society.

This event is not paid for by ARLIS/NA but is an event wholly donated to the Society by the individual or institution hosting the reception. These events are behind the scenes tours of the homes of art collectors or special tours of institutions that are not available to the general public, and are a unique benefit to contributing to the bottom line of the Society.

Consider increasing your contribution to attend one of these once in a lifetime receptions.